Moravian Academy is a church-related school whose Moravian tradition affirms that young people best realize their potential in an atmosphere of love and understanding. We seek to promote the child’s full development in mind, body, and spirit. Since 1742 the school has encouraged sound innovations to meet contemporary challenges while recognizing the permanence of basic human values. 

Moravian Academy will shape the student experience around curiosity and the deeply intellectual, personal, and lifelong growth it inspires. 

The Board of Trustees of Moravian Academy believes that educational excellence depends upon understanding and valuing the unique way each member of the Moravian Academy community experiences our shared human journey. Consistent with the Moravian Church’s historic tradition of acceptance across many markers of human difference, the Trustees commit to a leadership role in fostering a diverse, inclusive, and equitable educational environment. While encountering difference can be challenging, a holistic and exceptional education demands nothing less. It is necessary for both personal growth and professional achievement to engage and understand different perspectives and identities.
Adopted by unanimous vote, October 2019
Chris Weiler, Board Chair
Lori Schoeneman, Board Vice-Chair
Larry Eighmy, Treasurer
Greg Scagliotti '96SS, Secretary
Amy Ahart
Karley Biggs Sebia '00
Rebecca Binder
Barbara Dietterich
Mike Hilton
Sima Hodavance
Fatima Jaffar
Joe Landrigan
Matt McQueen '99MA
Charles Nifong
Kristin Noonan Hutchins '00SS
Christine Perrucci
Kevin Rea
Christian Rice
Carole Schachter '76MA
Scott Seymour
Matt Tuerk
Mary Wilford-Hunt

Jeff Zemsky, Moravian Academy Head of School*
Armistead Webster, Swain School Head of School *

*ex officio

Merle Smith Campus

Downtown Campus