Distinguished & Honorary Alumni

Each year, the Moravian Academy Alumni Board recognizes Distinguished Alumni during Alumni Reunion Weekend.

2019 Recipients

Distinguished Alumnus:
Henry Whittemore '74

Henry has more than 25 years of timberland management experience, with a particular focus on North America, Australia, New Zealand, China, and Eastern Europe. He currently serves as the Executive Director of the Maine TREE (Timber Research and Environmental Education) Foundation, an organization that educates and advocates for the sustainable use of the forest and the ecological, economic, and social health of Maine’s forest community.  
Prior to joining Maine TREE, he served as senior director of an international timberland investment fund based in Boston and Northeast Regional Manager of a Boston-based TIMO that managed lands in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York. Henry has served on many non-profit Boards in Maine – including the Maine Farmland Trust, Forest Society of Maine, Center for Woodland Education, the Northern Forest Center, Kennebec Land Trust, and the Maine Forest Products Council. 
From 1978-1981, Henry served in the United States Peace Corps in the Kingdom of Tonga as an agroforestry volunteer.  He holds a BA from Williams College and a Masters in Forestry from Yale University, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.
Distinguished Alumnus:
John Jacob '84

John is a partner in the Washington DC office of legal firm Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP.  His practice includes counseling, compliance, reimbursement, and litigation regarding Medicare and Medicaid regulatory and policy matters. He advises hospitals, device manufacturers and other health industry entities on the numerous regulatory and policy issues that they face in their daily operations.
He received his bachelor’s degree from Colgate University and his J.D from American University, Washington College of Law, cum laude.
Professionally, John has been nationally ranked as a top healthcare lawyer in the 2008-2019 editions of Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business and recognized by Super Lawyers in the health care practice area from 2012-2018.  He is involved with several civic and community organizations, including the Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless, the Convergence Center for Policy Resolution and the DC Bar Association.
Honorary Alumna:
Joyce Gilmore
In 2012, Joyce retired after 43 years of teaching at Moravian Academy. Her long history began before the Academy was formed when she was hired by Miss Myrtle Meilicke and The Reverend Neiring, Headmaster of the Moravian Preparatory School. Most of her tenure was spent teaching prekindergarten, but she also taught first, second and third grades.
Reading, poetry, writing and all aspects of language arts have always been one of her special academic loves. It was through this passion that she first became associated with our school. When given a poetry assignment by Lehigh University Professor Nancy Larrick, Joyce came to Moravian Prep as a graduate student to teach poetry lessons to the prekindergarten class at Prep in the very room where she would finish her teaching career devoted to young children at Moravian Academy.
Her love of literature, poetry, and storytelling has always been a vehicle for her to reach young children. In 1989, she published The Erwinna Witches and Other Stories which was illustrated by Alice Wheaton Mumbauer, former art teacher on the Prep and Academy faculties. Joyce will be fondly remembered by her students for her vivid imagination, storytelling skills and her loving and gentle nature.
Her passions include skiing, cycling, and traveling, as well awriting and telling children's stories.  A protector and lover of animals, Joycecofounded One By One Inc., a cat rescue shelter based out of Kutztown, in 1994.

We need your suggestions for future nominees! Please complete the form below with the name of a potential nominee, their class year, and why they should be considered for the award. The Alumni Board Award Committee will then decide the winner from the pool of candidates.

Criteria for each award:

Distinguished Alumnus/a:
  • An individual who attended Moravian Academy and is more than 15 years removed from their graduation.
  • An individual who has contributed significant resources to Moravian Academy, thereby positively and significantly impacting past and current students, teachers, and programs
  • an individual who has been identified as a leader in his/her profession and has made significant contributions to their community.
Distinguished Young Alumnus/a:
  • An individual who attended Moravian Academy, and is less than 15 years removed from their graduation.
  • Somebody who has been identified as a leader in his/her profession and has made significant contributions to their community
  • whose unique life experiences have made a positive and significant impact on others.
Honorary Alumni:
  • Through their dedication and contribution to society, these individuals embody the Moravian Academy virtues of mind, body, and spirit. To receive this award, honorees must not have attended Moravian Academy.
For additional information, please contact Bob Zaiser, Director of Institutional Advancement, at bzaiser@mamail.net.

Submit a Nomination

Please complete this nomination form and then push the Submit Button. After the Submit Button is pushed, the screen will refresh and a message will appear at the bottom of the screen telling you that your form has been submitted.
Honorary Alumni
Ms. Marilyn A. Albarelli H’92
Mrs. Margaret Baldock H’89
Ms. Bonnie Brill H’94
Mr. Thomas R. Bross H’94
The Reverend Dorothy Burcaw H’92
Mr. Carlton P. Chandler H’13
Mrs. Carolyn Conard H’74
Mr. Wesley S. Davis H’96
Mrs. Helen Detthof
Mr. David J. Devey H’78
Mrs. Miriam Devey H’78
Mrs. Elinor Dinsmore H'18
Mrs. Barbara Esteve H’04
Mrs. Gertrude B. Fox H'86
Mrs. Naomi Haupert de Neufville Boyer
Mrs. Helen Heller
Mrs. Thelma Holland H’89
Mrs. Natalie Fry Hunt
Mr. John W. Jacob H’92
Mrs. Charliese L. King H'16
Mr. George N. King, Jr. H'16
Dr. Steven Krawiec H’13
Mrs. Ella Jane Kunkle H’92
Mr. Robert Margolis H'85
Mrs. Virginia Martin
Mr. Robert M. McCann H’93
Mrs. Katherine Merle-Smith Thomas H’88
Mr. George Mowers H’91
Mr. Kenneth H. Oaks H’91
Dr. and Mrs. Peter Puleo H'14
Mr. Barnaby J. Roberts H’07
Mrs. Betsy Roberts H’07
Mrs. Margaret Sipple H’97
Dr. Peter W. Sipple H’97
Mr. Robert Spahn H’06
Mrs. Mimi Stanford H’06
Mrs. Judy Waldman
Mrs. Elizabeth Wilson H’09
Mrs. Bonnie Wismer H'15
Distinguished Alumni
Ms. Bonnie Biafore '72
Mrs. Shelley Sherman Brown '68P
Mrs. Lee Shields Butterfield ’35P
Ms. Patricia A. Chase ’71P
Ms. Mely de Neufville Rahn '56S
Mr. Richard Fox '64P
Dr. Anthon R. Fuisz ’84
Mr. Uday Gupta ’90
Mrs. Rebecca Humbert Heck ’59S
Dr. Robert F. Knouss ’62P
Mr. Santo Loquasto ’62P
Ms. Regina Low ’60P
Dr. Virginia Maulfair '56S
Mrs. Ann Sloyer Mindler ’70P
Mrs. Carol Meilicke Modjadidi ’66P
Dr. Russell Morgan ’60P
Mrs. Charlene Donchez Mowers ’64P
Mrs. Christine Herster Murphy ’70S
Mrs. Barbara Herster Newton ’61S
Mrs. Carol Burkhart Normington ’61P
Ms. Winifred Romeril ’85
The Honorable Paula A. Roscioli ’83
Mr. Theodore A. Rosenberger ’84
Mrs. Candace Johnson Williams ’61S
Mr. D. Brooks Zug ’63P
Martha Olga Luckenbach 1918P

Merle Smith Campus

Downtown Campus